Florida Educational Driving School

State and county certified driving courses.


What are the legal consequences for teenage drivers and drivers under 21 years old?


It is a privilege to be able to drive in the state of Florida, and is a great responsibly to have. You can lose this privilege if you are not responsible and following the state laws and regulations. Driving privileges can be taken away or in some cases restricted from drivers under the age of 21 for many reasons. Listed below are some Florida state imposed consequences for not following the laws and regulations.

Top 5 Florida State Imposed Consequences:
  1. If you received a traffic conviction while driving with your Learner’s License, you will not be able to apply for an Intermediate License for one year from the date of the conviction, or until you turn 18 years of age.
  2. If you receive 6 points on your driving record within a 12 month period, you will only be able to drive for strictly business purposes, or until you turn 18 years of age. This driving restriction will be extended up to an additional 90 days for each additional point you receive during the restricted period.
  3. If you test positive for a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or more, your license will be suspended for six months. If a second offense occurs, you will have your license suspended for an additional year. *Please note if you refuse to submit to a drinking and driving test (breathalyzer), you can also have your license suspended for 12 months, if this occurs a second time, it will result in an 18 month suspension.
  4. If you are found skipping school or not attending, your license can be suspended for truancy. If this occurs, your license will remain suspended until you are able to provide proof of attendance for at least 30 consecutive days.
  5. If you are under the age of 18 and found in the possession of tobacco products, your license can be suspended at least 30 days.
*Note: A parent or legal guardian can also take away your license if you are under the age of 18.

The chart below shows some of the common traffic offenses and point you could receive.
Speeding
15 mph or less over the speed limit 3 points
More than 15 mph over the speed limit 4 points
Speeding resulting in an crash 6 points

Moving Violation
Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality) 3 points
Moving violation resulting in a crash 4 points
Failing to stop at a traffic signal 4 points
Passing a stopped school bus 4 points
Reckless driving 4 points
Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50 6 points
Improper lane change 3 points
Violation of a traffic control sign/device 4 points
Open container as an operator 3 points
Child restraint violation 3 points
Littering 3 points

For a full list of driving violations and points, you can view the Points Value Table – Detail by Florida Statute Driving Violations here: Florida Violation Point and Statute Reference

Let’s Get Started!

Enroll For Online