Florida Educational Driving School

State and county certified driving courses.


After Completing the TLSAE & Road and Sign, What's Next?


After completing the TLSAE Course (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) and passing the DMV Road & Sign written test, it is time to get your Florida Learner's Permit! In order to get your learner’s permit, you will need to attend your local cities DMV Office. Most DMV locations will allow you to make an appointment in advance, prior to your arrival. Before you arrive, you will need to have the following proofs of documentation with you:
  • Legal Residential Address
  • Social Security Number* (If you do not have a SSN you will need to follow the instructions here http://www.gathergoget.com/SSN.aspx)
  • Birth Certificate
  • And a copy of your TLSAE Certificate of Completion
You will also need to fill out the State of Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor which can be found here: https://www.flhsmv.gov/forms/71142.pdf

When filling out the Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor Form:
  • One parent or legal guardian must sign this form.
  • All signatures must be notarized or witnessed by an examiner
  • Present this form, a social security card (if you have been issued one), and proof of identity satisfactory to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, if under 18 years of age. This form is not required if married.
Once you are at your local DMV office you will submit all the appropriate documentation, take a basic vision exam and pay a permit fee required to issue you the learner’s permit.

Now that you have your Florida learner's permit there are specific driving restrictions you must follow, these restrictions are:
  • For the first 3 months you will only be able to drive during daylight hours
  • After the first 3 months, you will be allowed to drive between the hours of 6:00am and 10:00pm.
  • It is extremely important to remember that with a learner’s permit you are not allowed to drive alone. Someone with a valid driver's license who is at least 21 years of age must be present in the front passenger seat at all times.
If you have not yet completed the TLSAE Course (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) or the DMV Road & Sign written test you get register below.

Let’s Get Started!

Enroll For Online