Florida Educational Driving School

State and county certified driving courses.


What is the TLSAE course?


The TLSAE Course (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) is a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles State approved 4 hour program that all Florida residents must complete if you are a first time driver. By completing the TLSAE course, you are taking the 1st step on your way to obtaining a driver's permit!

This course is known by different names, but they are all the same course. The course can be referred to as:
  • Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)
  • The 4 Hour Drug and Alcohol Test
  • Drug Alcohol Traffic Education (DATE Course)
  • Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA Course)
  • First Time Driver Course
If you have never held a regular driver license in any state or county within the United States, you must complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course prior to applying for a temporary restricted driver's permit in the state of Florida. The TLSAE Course (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) is a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles State approved 4 hour program that all Florida residents must complete if you are a first time driver. By completing the TLSAE course, you are taking the 1st step on your way to obtaining a driver's permit!

While teenagers getting their learner's permit or restricted license typically are the age group taking this course, adults who have never held a driver's license must complete this program as well.

The TLSAE course covers many topics via video and text to prepare you for the road including:
  • How Alcohol and Drugs Affect Your Driving Abilities
  • Traffic Laws and Driving Responsibilities (including the Move Over Law)
  • Safety Techniques: Seatbelts, Distractions, and Road Signs
  • And How To Prepare Yourself to be a better driver
This online course can be completed quickly, in only a few hours, and you can take the exam as many times as needed to pass. Once the course is completed, a certificate of completion will be sent to the email address you registered with, and you will always have a digital copy to download through your account. When you complete the program, your completion will automatically be reported to the Florida DHSMV.

Our course can be taken at your leisure, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, via PC, Mobile Device, or Tablet. Start and resume on your own time from these devices anywhere in the world!

The cost for this online course is only $17.95 and there are NO HIDDEN FEES!

Our course has been approved and authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for your Florida Learner's Permit.

Let’s Get Started!

Enroll For Online