Florida Educational Driving School

State and county certified driving courses.


TLSAE Florida 4-Hour Drug and Alcohol Course - $17.95



100% Online


Designed for phones,
tablets or desktops

Your Own Pace


Log in and log out as many times as you need
Your progress will always be saved

Complete It!


Your certificate will be emailed
to you as soon as you finish at no extra cost


Before you can apply for a restricted driver’s license (learner’s permit) in the state of Florida, you must successfully complete this online course.

This course is known by different names, but it is the same course:

  • Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)
  • The 4 Hour Drug and Alcohol Test
  • Drug Alcohol Traffic Education (DATE Course)
  • Drug Alcohol Traffic Awareness (DATA Course)
  • First Time Driver Course

Learn More >

The course consists of:
  • Reading material
  • Watching videos
  • A quiz at the end (guaranteed to pass)
  • Your certificate will be emailed to you and available for download
  • We want you to pass the DMV Road and Sign test on your first try. As such, we include an interactive 100 question multiple choice practice test with your purchase of this TLSAE course.
First time drivers who are not students must be at least 15 years of age to enroll in this DHSMV-approved online course. First time drivers who are students must be a resident of Florida and at least 14 years old to enroll.

The cost for this online course is only $17.95 and there are no hidden fees.

This online course can be taken at your leisure, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from a phone, tablet or desktop.

To View Florida Official Driver Handbooks:

Questions? We are here for you!

Q: Do I have to take this Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course?
  • If you want to get a Florida Driver's License and have never had a driver’s license anywhere else, for example a different State or another country, the State of Florida requires you to enroll, complete and pass this course.
Q: Does the course come with a free DMV practice exam?
  • Yes, the DMV practice exam is included with the purchase of the TLSAE course. The practice test is 100 multiple choice questions that will give you instant feedback once you select an answer.
Q: How do I access the DMV practice exam?
  • Once enrolled, under your courses in progress there will be an option FL Permit Practice Questions, select this to enter the free exam.
Q: How much will this Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education online course cost me?
  • The complete cost is only $17.95
  • This includes the course content, the final exam, and electronically transmitting notification of your course completion to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You can then go to any Florida Department of Motor Vehicles office to take your written exam.
  • A Course Completion Certificate is sent, after you complete the course, to the email address that you provided during enrollment. This is for your records only.
Q: What do I need to know you and about this course?
  • We, the Florida Educational Driving School, are officially approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to give this course.
  • This course meets all the Florida DHSMV requirements for TLSAE and, upon successful completion, qualifies you to obtain a Florida learner’s permit.
  • This course can be taken 100% online without any hassles.
  • This course is simple to take and you are guaranteed to pass.
Q: Are there any time limits I need to be aware of?
  • This TLSAE online driving course must be completed within 90 days of when you enrolled.
  • We will electronically transmit your Completion Certificate to DHSMV once you complete the course.
  • Your records will appear in their computer system within approximately 24 business hours of completion.
  • Your record will remain on file with DHSMV for one (1) year and will allow you to go to any DMV Office to apply for your Learner's Permit during that year.
Q: What will I learn by taking this course?
  • The course will answer all of your questions about how to become a safer driver
  • Just some of the things you'll learn include:
  • The latest traffic laws, the new "move- over-law"
  • How to change lanes safely
  • How to handle tailgaters
  • Basic maintenance needed to keep your car operating smoothly and safely
  • Dealing with peer pressure
  • Effects of drugs and alcohol
  • When all the topics have been completed, there is a simple final exam
Q: How long will it take to complete the course?
  • Most individuals take 4 hours to complete the course. This includes the time they need to read the materials, watch the videos, and take breaks.
Q: Can I start the course then stop and later startup again?
  • Yes, you can start, stop and then restart each topic
  • Each course topic can be restarted either at the beginning or at the place where you left off
  • The final exam, if stopped in the middle, will restart you at the beginning of an entirely new exam
  • The system will keep track of your progress and will know where to start if you desire to pick up where you left off
Q: When can I take the final exam?
  • You can take the final exam after completing the coursework.
Q: How do I know if I passed the final exam?
  • Upon completion of the final exam you will see your score.
  • 80% correct is required to pass.
  • You may retake the final exam as many times as you would like until you pass.
Q: Can I retake the final exam if I did not pass, and is there a limit to the number of times I can retake it?
  • There is no limit on the number of times you can retake, at no additional cost, the final exam if you did not pass
Q: If I have a question or a problem with the course, is there someone I can call?
  • Yes, call Florida Educational Driving School at (954) 592-6818
Q: How do I get started? When registering please make sure that all information is correct. The Florida Educational Driving School is not responsible for incorrect information. A $10 fee will be charged if we have to reissue a new certificate with the corrected information. Example: Citation or Case number, County Issued, Name and Driver License etc.